Freedom In the Age of Trump

After getting my heart ripped out in the two elections I’d previously been very invested in, 2008 and 2012, I approached 2016 with apprehension and disinterest. Well, I’ll correct that. I was very excited about Carly Fiorina. (I’m still hoping she’ll have a role in the new Administration!) She was such a great presence and voice for Conservatism. And she was a genuine Jesus-follower, who spoke about her faith in an authentic and compassionate way. I was on the edge of my seat, cheering for her as she debated her fellow GOP candidates. Her taking on Trump was glorious. Her dismantling of Clinton was legendary. Watching Trump get through the debates made me long for Fiorina in a bad way. But all that is now water under the election bridge, right?

Here we are in the Trump era. I am counting down the days to Obama’s departure. I cannot wait for that spineless embarrassment to be a distant memory. (Granted, he’ll stick around D.C. putting his  $0.02 in everything so…) I went into Election Night 2016 a lot differently than the previous two elections. I didn’t like Trump, I REALLY didn’t like Clinton. I thought his win was a longshot, I had basically resigned myself to Clinton drop kicking us down the path Obama had set us on. Nothing like an election like this to really acknowledge that my hope is not in a U.S. presidential election, right?

So where are we? God in His soverignty has allowed some of the most historic world leaders in history. In Romans 13 and other places, it says that leaders are placed by God…he ordains or at least allows even horrific leaders…the Hitlers, Maus, Pol Pots, Stalins, Lenins, Putins, and Kim Jung Uns…(I’m not saying Trump is numbered with these folks.) God is still good and in control even when our political lives are in upheaval and turmoil. Christianity is nearing the chopping block in our country…but we’re seeing a stronger faith than the previous generations in Millennials who identify as Christians. It’s because there’s no cultural advantage anymore. A teen who says he/she is a Christian isn’t doing it for cool-pts. Something is shifting in our country and I’m hoping and praying the result is a more genuine faith, more equipped to take on the problems and questions of the day. It won’t be in the public square in a position of power, but rarely in history has it been so! Think, our leader was murdered and all his followers squished and scattered. And yet, the rise of his followers has changed all of history. It’s exciting.

Leave a Reply

